

SASHTO Board of Director's Meeting Minutes 2024 SASHTO Annual Meeting Rogers, Arkansas

August 20, 2024

A meeting of the Southern Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (SASHTO) Board of Directors (BOD) was held on Tuesday, August 20, 2024, at 7:00 a.m., at the Rogers Convention Center in Rogers, Arkansas.

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL/STATES PRESENT:

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

AASHTO UPDATE

Jim Tymon, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Executive Director, provided an AASHTO update. Craig Thompson, AASHTO President, announced he would step down from his role on September 11 and AASHTO Vice President Garrett Eucalitto from Connecticut will step in as President effective September 12 through the AASHTO Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, when a new President would be elected.

CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES

Minutes from the April 26, 2024 SASHTO Spring meeting in Madison, Wisconsin were presented and approved.

OLD BUSINESS

Task Force Update

Draft Changes to the SASHTO Constitution

Kevin Thornton (Arkansas), SASHTO Secretary, provided an update to the draft changes to the SASHTO Constitution. Discussion of changes was handled section by section as indicated on the attached updated draft. The recommended changes will be presented for a vote at the November 1, 2024, meeting during the AASHTO Annual Meeting in Philadelphia.

SASHTO Surface Transportation Reauthorization Priorities

Brandye Hendrickson (Texas) presented the draft SASHTO Surface Transportation Reauthorization Priorities as indicated on the attached document. A motion was made and seconded and passed 13-1, with West Virginia in opposition, to submit the SASHTO Surface Transportation Reauthorization Priorities to AASHTO.

Draft Changes to SASHTO Website

Kevin Thornton outlined changes to made to the existing SASHTO website. No action was required.

Nomination of AASHTO Vice President

Motion was made and seconded to nominate Russell McMurry (Georgia) as the AASHTO Vice President candidate for the SASHTO Region. The motion passed 14-0.

NEW BUSINESS

Nomination and Election of SASHTO Officers for 2025

Nomination was made and seconded to elect Secretary Jim Gray (Kentucky) as the 2024-2025 SASHTO President and Secretary Justin Powell (South Carolina) as the 2024-2025 SASHTO Vice President. The motion passed 14-0.

SASHTO 2025 Update – James Ballinger (Kentucky) reported an update on the 2025 Annual Meeting in Lexington, Kentucky which will be held on August 3-6. The theme is Moving Forward Together. The Opening Reception will be held at the new downtown park and the Closing Reception will be held at the Kentucky Thoroughbred Park.

<u>SASHTO 2026 Update</u> – South Carolina will be hosting the 2026 Annual Meeting August 22-26 in Greenville, South Carolina.

<u>SASHTO 2027 Update</u> – North Carolina will be hosting the 2027 Annual Meeting. A committee has been assembled and plans are underway.

A motion and second was made to adjourn the meeting and it passed. The meeting was adjourned.